Welcome!

I review all genres and I post them in 23 spots. Check out previous posts and I'm sure you'll find several books to catch your interest. I am a published reviewer and an award winning one. I am one of the best reviewers around.

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Unfair Business Practices

I finally heard from amazon but they didn't say much. 



Amazon
Your AccountAmazon.com
Message From Customer Service
Hello,

We have determined that you have violated our Customer Review Creation Guidelines. As a result, we have suppressed all of your reviews, and you will no longer be able to post reviews on Amazon.com.

We made this decision after carefully considering your reviewing account. This decision is final.

We cannot share any further information about our decision, and we may not reply to further emails about this issue.

Best regards,
Review Moderator
Amazon.com


Looks like I won't be posting on Amazon. I have no reason why they won't let me and I'll understand if authors decide to stop having me review for them.

Respectfully,
Melanie

Thursday, December 7, 2017

No Word Yet From Amazon

I tried to post a new review on several Amazon sites but had no luck. This message is what I see.

Sorry, we are unable to accept your review of this product for either one or both of the following reasons:


Your previous review of this product did not comply with our Customer Reviews Guidelines. Amazon does not permit reviews from customers whose relationship to the product or seller may be perceived as biased.

I've never been warned by them or even received an email stating they were taking them down. This whole thing is ridiculous. Please bear with me.

If, after all the information I've given you, you decide to stop having me review for you. I completely understand. 
Again, Thank You
Melanie 

If you were me and lived in Cuba by Carole P. Roman

  Winter is here so why don't we take a trip to Cuba? Cuba is an island in the Caribbean. There are so many things to see and do. We can go shopping or explore a real Spanish Fort. We could play at the beach before we go exploring again.

     This book is colorful, friendly and exciting. Well written and characters children can relate to. It's the perfect tool for parents. You can use this to "travel" with your children. It will give them a cultural lesson. Ms. Roman's approach to children with this series is the best I've seen. Wonderful books your child will never tire of.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it's a teaching tool (which I love) and it's a fun read.

Saturday, December 2, 2017

ATTENTION!! IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT!

To All Authors:

I am making this announcement so everyone will know. I DID NOT remove any reviews. They were removed by Amazon. Why? This is the question I've been trying to get answered. No one knows why so far. My profile page on Amazon has been wiped clean. 

I continue to contact them to try and get answers although I wonder if a certain disgruntled Author contacted them and complained. I have no proof yet. I'm still working on it. I have explained the situation to them extensively. It seems more complicated than they can handle. 

Please, give me some time before you all decide to lynch me or spread false news. I work hard for my good reputation. I'm furious with them for causing all this trouble with the reviews and my reputation.

I appreciate you checking in here and for your patience. I can't imagine why they did this. I follow their guidelines to the letter and if I miss something, the Authors will contact me so I can fix it.  

Thank you so much,
Melanie

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Supreme Leadership by Alinka Rutkowska

     Supreme Leadership 

     Gain 500 Years of Wisdom from Successful Business Leaders by multi-award-winning, #1 international best-selling author Alinka Rutkowska 

BIO: Alinka has sold more than 80,000 books and is the founder of Author Remake, LibraryBub and 5-Figure Author Challenge. She's been featured on Fox Business Network, ABC, NBC, CBS and many more. She’s a sought-after speaker and was voted top 5 speaker and named most creative book marketer at the Bestseller Summit Online. 

What is it about? The book brings together the wisdom of 20 CEOs who will be celebrating their 25th anniversary in 2018. The featured leaders share their secrets to success, recipes for overcoming obstacles and the laws of leadership they’ve developed over the years. 

Target audience: 1. Aspiring leaders 2. Leaders who want to hone their leadership skills 3. Business people fascinated by leadership.

 Competing titles: Good to Great by Jim Collins, The E-Myth by Michael Gerber, The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership by John C. Maxwell. 

Timeline - November: finalization of the advanced review copy - December: building of launch team, distribution of ARC for endorsements - January: launch

Endorser profile - Nobel prize winners in Economics - CEOs of large multinational companies - High profile thought leaders on the subject of leadership - Best-selling authors of books on leadership.

 Why endorse? Celebrity status endorsers will have their quote included in the book and on the retail pages together with their url. The book will be promoted far and wide and so will be your brand.

Contact alinka@authorremake.com

HOW I SOLD 80,000 BOOKS: Book Marketing for Authors (Self Publishing through Amazon and Other Retailers) by Alinka Rutkowska

   Get your copy of this book FREE! It's only for a limited time though. It will help in many ways. Tried and true strategies for the author who is self publishing their books. Check this book out right now! Get your copy on Amazon or through this link- https://authorremake.com/book/














  • I think the book is brilliant. [...] It is Jam-packed with practical ideas to promote your book and increase your sales. Author is practically giving away book selling secrets for free! Must-read for all authors - new, established, and esp. those going the self-published route.
    ANUPAMA
  • Often when I see this type of title, I am skeptical on whether the information contained inside will actually be beneficial. I have to say this was. Although the book just gave hints of things in the beginning, the author slowly built her case and method for book creation, crafting, promotion, reviews and more. She kept giving and I must give her 5 stars! Thanks for putting this together and making it available!
    LIVE LAUGH LOVE
  • Amazingly astute! Very informative, tells you right where to go and who to see to get your books sold.
    CHRISTI J. HUBBARD
  • This book offers some really great tips for new or seasoned authors. I can't wait to implement some of these practices in my book business. Warning though...it is A LOT to take in! :)
    BECKY W.
  • This book was very informative. Gave terrific ideas on how to market a book - both e-books and paper books. Highly recommended.
    NEIL GREENBAUM
  • I definitely appreciate publishing advice from a SUCCESSFUL author! This book is a gem and I wish I'd read it last year. I'm re-reading it right now, as we speak:)
    KARIDSG
  • This book is excellent. Packed with great information which can be put to use immediately. In fact, there's so much useful information, it will take me a while to implement it.
    JUDI MOREO
  • I spent days to try to understand how to market and promote my first book, until i found "HOW I SOLD 80,000 BOOKS".
    LILLY B.
  • This is a great book. It's full of useful information. I highly recommend it.
    JERRY MINCHEY
  • Very detailed and in-depth as I am walked through the "4p's" of self publishing. Easy to understand and follow and even better, her methods are doable.
    YEDTED
  • Great information. Wish I'd had this before my first published novel.
    DRAFTY SPOTS
  • The best book for self-published writers I've read.
    DESIREE TAMARGO

Friday, October 27, 2017

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Body Art by Kristopher Triana

     What does a soon-to-be college student, his wild child girlfriend and a porn star have in common? Much more than you might imagine. Toby had just graduated from high school and was looking forward to a vacation. He and his girlfriend  rented a secluded cabin. It's while they are exploring the area that their vacation takes a sharp left turn. Toby and Jessica may never be the same after this.

     This book takes horror and X-rated ideas to the highest level. Well written and deeply disturbing, this book is not for the faint of heart. The characters are well defined and unique. If you enjoy blood and guts movies, this book is for you. Even though I made the statements above, the book is hard to put down. 

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 for the original ideas in the book.

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Fatal Charm by Blair McDowell

     Caitlin Abernathy's life is going well. She designs jewelry in her own store and she's getting ready to meet with a huge buyer. Then strange events start taking place. Caitlin writes it off as bad luck, but is it really? She couldn't have guessed this side trip, the incidents, were all connected and would change her life.

     A mystery introduced them, intrigue kept them together. Well written and engaging characters is what makes this book so fantastic. This one is definitely a page-turner.  Fatal Charm is well plotted and full of surprises. I really enjoyed the way this story came together. I'd like to see Caitlin Abernathy and Colin Stryker in another myster/romantic tale. Get this one for your TBR pile, you'll be glad you did.

     I found no issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because there is so much to enjoy in this book. 




Blair McDowell




I live on British Columbia’s beautiful Sunshine Coast, where I run a B&B. When I’m not cooking omelets or flipping pancakes, I write romantic suspense, one of which (Romantic Road) just won the Romance Reviews Readers Choice award. With four novels in print, I’m waiting for the release of my fifth, Where Lemons Bloom, and I jam working on #6 about a jewelry theft from the Louvre! When winter comes, I head to warmer climes, in October to Europe, and in the winter to the Caribbean. A member of the Writers Union of Canada, and of the Romance Writers of America, my travels are fodder for my writing.

Visit Blair At The Links Below









     

Friday, September 8, 2017

Jamarr's Promise: A True Story of Corruption, Courage, and Child Welfare by Kristin Morris

     Jamarr is removed from his home for his safety. DCCP in New Jersey found out Jamarr's mother's boyfriend had been beating him. He is placed back in his mother's home and the unthinkable happens. What will happen to Jamarr now?

     This book will make you pause. You probably think you know DCCP/Child Protective Services. You don't know a thing. The horror of the situation and then the actions of an agency charged with protecting our smallest citizens is out of this word.  If you have a heart, this book will reach into your body and pull it out. Jamarr's Promise is a must read for parents everywhere.

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Class of '59 (American Journey #4) by John A. Heldt

     It's 2017 and Mary Beth experiences the most horrific thing a person can experience. To say it rattled her would be an understatement. While staying at a family friends house, Mary Beth begins to see things. She has to investigate.
     Mark finds a paper in an old desk. What it says can't possibly be true. Mark's gonna give it a try though.  How will it affect Mary Beth and Mark?

     Mr. Heldt draws you in from the first words. Well written and characters you'll love are huge pluses in this book. You are never quite certain if there will trouble or if the characters can move about freely.  One day the subject of this book may be common place. I really enjoyed this one. Mr. Heldt is a gifted storyteller. 

     I didn't find any issues.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because I'd like to meet Professor Bell one day.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Hannah's Moon (American Journey #5) by John A. Heldt

     Claire and her husband, Ron had just suffered another miscarriage. It was devastating because they'd been trying so long to have children. Then Claire's brother approaches her with an idea. It's crazy and a little unorthodox but it could work. Claire, David and Ron are about to take a journey  they'll never forget.

     Bring the tissues for this one. Heartwarming and special, this book will hit you deep. Well written and the characters that are relate-able make this book a quick read. Keep an open mind throughout the book *wink*. Mr. Heldt out did himself this time. His books are an automatic must read for me. The author guides you through the maze of feelings and events like a pro. You'll never go wrong with a John A. Heldt book.

     I didn't find any issues and I looked hard John *grin*.

     I gave this one 5 cheers out of 5 because it is an amazing tale.

Crazy Love by Rachael Tamayo

     Emily's life is pretty busy. She works and she has a friend getting married soon. With everything going on, she didn't notice Noah. Emily is friendly and kind to everyone, but some take it more personally than she meant it to be. Now she just wants to figure out what's going on. Isaiah is a cop and cupid hit him hard when he met Emily. Can the two of them work out this mess and move on?

     This book is well written and contains characters who are both loved and despised. This amazing book will keep you riveted to your seat. Thrilling, scary and hopeful, you'll be cheering for the good guys. The book reads a little slow but the content more than makes up for it.

     I did find some issues. The part where Emily doesn't remember things seems to happen too suddenly. I think it would have been better to gradually make it happen.  Chapter 22 begins with the wrong man's name.

     I gave this one 4 cheers out of 5 because of the issues above. This one should be on your TBR pile and I eagerly await the next book about Isaiah and Emily.

Friday, August 25, 2017

Rarity from the Hollow by Robert Eggleton



For a limited time, the eBook version of Rarity from the Hollow is on sale for $2.99 and the Paperback is on sale for $16.99. https://www.amazon.com/Rarity-Hollow-Robert-Eggleton/dp/190713395X/ Author proceeds contribute to the prevention of child maltreatment: http://www.childhswv.org/.

Sunday, August 13, 2017

Jamarr's Promise: A True Story of Corruption, Courage, and Child Welfare by Kristin Morris

MEET AUTHOR KRISTIN I. MORRIS



Kristin I. Morris is a devoted wife and mother of four children.  She has been with her husband Benny since age nineteen. She is a devout Catholic and tries to live in a Christian manner.  She always wanted to help people, by working with the church teaching CCD, pro-life club, soup kitchen, and doing charity work.
Kristin earned her bachelor’s in Psychology from Rowan University. After school, she began to work as a social worker for the State of New Jersey’s Division of Child Protection and Permanency, formerly Division of Youth and Family Services. As part of the child welfare system, she found herself watching over New Jersey’s most vulnerable citizens: abused children. She was extremely excited and na├»ve, wanting to save the world. Working in the city of Camden among the people that needed the most help was extremely eye opening, but revealed the corruption of the inner systems of the Division. Jamarr’s Promise is the true story of Kristin’s battle with the State over the murder of a child she tried desperately to save..
Kristin’s dream is to open and run a foster care organization as a safety net for abused children, and to eliminate the politics and hidden agendas of larger organizations.


        MEET  Joseph J. Zielinski , PH.D



Joseph J. Zielinski, Ph.D. is a New Jersey licensed psychologist certified in both Clinical Psychology and Clinical Neuropsychology. He completed his undergraduate in Psychology at the University of Pennsylvania and earned a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology at Rutgers University, New Brunswick. He has been in private practice for almost forty years as a psychologist, often working concurrently for public schools in special education, in a headache clinic, and in a management consulting firm. He also publishes in professional journals. He most enjoys working as a practitioner and seeing patients of all backgrounds and experiences.
For seventeen years, Dr. Zielinski has spearheaded a group of pioneering psychologists to pass legislation that would allow trained psychologists to prescribe psychotropic medications. This is an effort to help the dire shortage of psychiatrists in New Jersey and around the country. Their efforts to help the people of New Jersey are near to fruition.
Dr. Zielinski has been married for forty years, has two grown children and two grandchildren. He is an avid landscaper and is particularly fond of evergreens. He is a fitness enthusiast and a former marathoner. He enjoys classic rock and live concerts at local venues.


Jamarr's Promise: A True Story ofCorruption, Courage, and Child Welfare


Jamarr’s Promise is the shocking personal memoir of social worker Kristin
I. Morris’ fight to protect a nine-year-old child, Jamarr Cruz, that ended in
his tragic murder and New Jersey’s Division of Youth and Family Services
(DYFS)’s denial of its responsibility in the case.
As a caseworker for DYFS, Kristin helped many children and families; it
was her life’s passion. Nine-year-old Jamarr was living with his grandparents
after his mother’s boyfriend, Vincent Williams, beat him repeatedly. Jamarr
told Kristin it was not safe for him to return home. Kristin urgently tried
to keep Jamarr safe with his grandparents, but was told by superiors that
Latino children are kept in the home at all costs. This time, the cost was
Jamarr Cruz’s life. In 2009 after Jamaar’s return to Omayra Cruz and Vincent
Williams, Vincent beat Jamarr to death. Not only did Kristin’s superiors at
the DYFS block her efforts to help Jamarr, but when he was killed, they
blamed Kristin for his death.
Jamarr’s Promise is a call to end corrupt loyalties in New Jersey’s DYFS.
It is a call to protect children from Jamarr’s fate and promote child welfare.
It is a call for justice for Kristin Morris, who did the right thing and was
punished unjustly for it.

Chapter One Excerpt
Chapter 1

          The suburban New Jersey town of Pennsauken changed a lot in
          recent years and still in 2009, bordering as it does on the city
          of Camden. I am a caseworker for the State’s Child Protec-
tive Services agency long known as the Division of Youth and Family
Services, or DYFS, now called the Department of Child Protection
and Permanency, or DCPP. I am driving to my last scheduled client
of the day, the Pena family. The Pena case is about to be closed based
on earlier visits by my colleague, Omar Mateo. His supervisor has
already completed the pink slip approving the closing, so this should
be just a matter of paperwork after this last Required Monthly Visit. I
might even get home on time tonight. Providing excellent services to
New Jersey’s troubled families is my pride and joy; that . . . and pride
and joy in my own family.
    I turn into the driveway of a fairly well kept home, walk up to the
house, and ring the bell. It doesn’t work, so I knock. I hear a woman’s
voice muffled from behind the door.
    “Coming.”
    A late twenties Latino woman answers the door smoking a ciga-
rette. She looks gaunt and disheveled. I am taken aback more by her
appearance than by the fact that I expected the children’s stepfather
to answer the door.
www.wisdomhousebooks.com • 919-883-4669 • Clara@wisdomhousebooks.com
Wisdom House Books
     “Are you the mom?” I ask.
     “No. I’m the babysitter.”
     I doubt it, but I flash my official State of New Jersey name badge.
“I’m Kristin Morris from the Division of Children Protection and
Permanency. I need to speak with the stepfather, Mr. Pena. Can I
come in?”
     The woman hesitates, then acquiesces. “He’s not here now. Yeah,
come in.”
     I enter the Pena house and observe three children staring silently
back at me. Bella is a crawling one-year-old, Tony is a four-year-old
sitting in a diaper, and Jimi is a seven-year-old bare chested in pajama
bottoms. All of the children appear Latino.
    Since it is shortly after noon, I address Jimi. “Hi, Jimi, I’m Miss
Kristin. How come you aren’t in school today?”
    Jimi shrugs his shoulders. I immediately notice a history of burn
injuries on his torso. I try to hide my grimace. “What time will their
stepfather be home?”
    The woman is evasive. “Don’t know.”
    I turn my attention to Tony and my eyes widen at a fresh burn scar
and a black eye. I get closer to look at Bella sitting on the floor and
spot a burn on her leg. Tears come to my eyes. I blink them away and
say to the toddler, “Hey, cutie.”
    I look around and begin to survey the house. My jaw goes slack as
I see makeshift wiring and exposed light bulbs at every outlet. I walk
into the kitchen and see a hole in the floor that reveals the basement. I
kneel over it to look in and whip my head back. “You have a sewage
problem,” I say. I stand and leave the kitchen, crossing the hallway
and heading toward the bathroom.
    It is filthy and there is no sink. An exposed bulb dangles to the floor.
I turn back into the hallway and see a closet door with a padlock. Inside
there is a Nintendo. I look to Tony who stares at me with fear in his
eyes. I suddenly realize what the closet is used for. I try to reassure him.
“It’s OK, Tony.” I am appalled, and I know I must call this in.
    I approach the woman in the living room and say, “OK, I’ll have
to meet with the kids’ stepfather. I’ll have to make another visit.”
www.wisdomhousebooks.com • 919-883-4669 • Clara@wisdomhousebooks.com
Wisdom House Books
    I exit the home and search my casebook schedule for any other
visits in the vicinity. I find one and make an uneventful visit, being
careful to document it.
    Two hours later, I return unannounced to the Pena home. The
stepfather of two of the children, Rodolfo, is home and on the speaker
phone with his own father.
    The older man refers to the four-year-old. “Just beat his ass.”
    Rodolfo sees me and responds, “Oh, the DYFS worker’s here and
she can hear you. But she’s cool.” He hangs up.
    I question Rodolfo about Tony’s black eye and get a confused
series of ludicrous explanations. “He bumped it on the door . . . he
bumped it in the pool while playing . . . he came home with it.”
    I have heard and seen enough. I dial my supervisor Yolanda on
my cell. “Hey, Yolanda . . . Kristin. I’m at the Pena house and it’s a
disaster. I need to remove the kids.” I look at wide-eyed little Bella.
    Yolanda replies, “Yeah, I understand. Mateo was going to close
the case. What the hell was he thinking?”
    “I have no idea, but I can’t close it now.” I continue to look around.
The so-called baby-sitter won’t even look in my direction. It becomes
clear that the Pena children have been through this routine before.
They are no longer distressed, and even visibly excited.
    “Yay, McDonalds, yay!” Tony calls out joyfully.
    Yolanda continues, “I’m good with it. How long do you think
you’ll be?”
    “Mommy, are you coming with us?” Tony asks.
    I tell Yolanda to hold on and I ask Tony, “Who is this lady?”
    “My mommy.”
    “No, I’m not the mom, I’m the babysitter,” the woman protests.
    I step outside for a moment of privacy and get back on the phone.
“Yolanda, yeah, the mother was here alone with the children, and
there’s a court order forbidding it. She’s to be supervised 24/7 due to
chronic heroin addiction. The stepfather has full custody.”
    “OK, bring the kids in. Estimated time of arrival?”
    “About an hour, after we stop at McDonalds.”
    “I’ll set up the pediatric appointments. You’ll need the rest of the
day to process the paperwork. See you then.”
    I walk back inside and speak to the entire family, “The children
are coming with me. Kids, get your clothes on. Where are Bella’s
clothes?”
    The mother points to a basket overflowing with unfolded clothes.
The two older children quickly throw on their socks, clothes, and
shoes. The mother hands me a onesie. I clothe Bella and continue to
hold her. Rodolfo stands helplessly in the background.
    Jimi and Tony bid farewell to their mother.
    The mother’s cigarette hand trembles as she smokes with a vacant
look in her eyes. She appears emotionless and remains silent.
    Jimi addresses me with enthusiasm, “If we’re getting McDonalds,
can I have a Happy Meal?”
    “Yes, Jimi, you can.”
    As I leave the house with the children, the stepfather mutters
curses. We all walk down the front steps to the driveway. The older
children smile while we hold hands walking to the car, and I carry
Bella. It takes a few moments to put the children in baby and child
seats in the state car marked, “For Government Purposes Only.” We
drive away.
    This is exactly what I have come to expect as a case manager in a
child protective service agency. I see the worst of the worst and can
always be surprised in the saddest fashion. I can only do my job to the
best of my ability to meet the needs of these children.

Seeking Justice for Caseworker who warned
NJ DYFS before Tragic Death of 9-Year-Old Boy
Jamarr’s Promise is the shocking true story of Kristin I. Morris’ fight to protect a nine-
year-old child, Jamarr Cruz, that ended in his tragic death and New Jersey’s Division
of Youth and Family Services (DYFS)’s denial of its responsibility in the case.
As a caseworker for New Jersey’s Division of Youth and Family Services (DYFS), Kristin
helped many children and families; it was her life’s passion. Nine-year-old Jamarr was
living with his grandparents after his mother’s boyfriend, Vincent Williams, beat him.
During the last required monthly visit before Jamarr was scheduled to return to his
mother and Vincent’s care, Jamarr told Kristin it was not safe for him to return home.
Kristin urgently tried to keep Jamarr safe with his grandparents, but was told by
superiors that Latino children are kept in the home at all costs. This time, the cost
was Jamarr Cruz’s life.
In 2009 after his return to Omayra Cruz and Vincent Williams, Vincent beat Jamarr to
death. Not only did Kristin’s superiors at the DYFS block her efforts to help Jamarr, but
when he was killed, they blamed Kristin for his death. Kristin was terminated at work
and sued by Jamarr’s mother Omayra Cruz—even after Omayra won a settlement for
$425,000 from the State of New Jersey. Kristin’s witnesses who provided proof of Kristin’s
innocence were pressured to alter their testimony by Kristin’s superiors. After Kristin
won a court arbitration, was completely exonerated, and was ordered to be permitted
back at work, DYFS still would not let Kristin return to work. Meanwhile, those above
Kristin who sealed Jamarr’s cruel fate have been promoted to higher offices.
The State of New Jersey has crippled Kristin financially, has stripped her of a career
helping vulnerable children, and has blatantly ignored facts and sworn testimonies
that an investigation of the herein named DYFS and State corroborators is necessary.
Jamarr’s Promise is a call to end corrupt loyalties in New Jersey’s DYFS. It is a call to
protect children from Jamarr’s fate. It is a call for justice for Kristin Morris, who did the
right thing and was punished unjustly for it.
Sign our petition here at Change.org and call for a full investigation of those
responsible for the mismanagement of the Jamarr Cruz case, from Joyce A. Thomas,
NY/NJ Regional Administrator of the Administration for Children & Families.
Petitioning Joyce.Thomas@acf.hhs.gov
https://goo.gl/YKWzUq
www.wisdomhousebooks.com • 919-883-4669 • Clara@wisdomhousebooks.com
Wisdom House Books
www.jamarrspromise.com
Paperback: $12.95 U.S. $18.95 CAN ISBN: 978-0-9983799-0-6
E-book: $2.99 ISBN: 978-0-9983799-2-0
TRUE CRIME / Murder / General
Wisdom House Books

REVIEW COMING SOON!